Whitney and her son, 8/25/18

Please join us in congratulating Whitney and her son for getting out of their homeless situation and into a home of their own. After a roommate left unexpectedly they have been couch hopping with friends and relatives, and after being on the waiting list for many years she finally received a housing voucher which is a huge help for her being able to pay rent. We were happy to help her with the final step in getting into their own place by paying their security deposit. Read Whitney’s story below:

Dear OTS,
My name is Whitney. I am a single mother of a 7 year old boy. It has been a struggle for the past year we have been living house to house with friends and family were ever we could lay our head down at. Food each night has been hard also I’ve sacrificed not eating just to feed my son. I was living living with a roommate who was helping pay rent and they moved out without notice due to an unsafe incident that occurred leaving me to pay rent I couldn’t afford on my own. I took out loans I couldn’t repay which caused me to get my paycheck garnished and me and my son homeless. I was able to go to both my sisters house I’ve been back and forth between both homes. However I’m not on the lease therefore I cannot stay with them it’s been a full year now when the agreement was a couple Months to stay with them only and I have extended that. I was approved for section 8 so now I can get assistance to move into a place for myself and my son. I finally got approved for Section housing after being on the waiting list for 7 years. We are on a timeline to move in or I would lose my voucher and I did get approval for the rental today. Due to financial debt and garnishments of my check I wasn’t able to afford my security deposit so this is why I was seeking financial assistance and through the grace of god I found Off the Streets HB to help my family. I have 1 income for a family of 2, which child care expenses to get help while i work a job from food to car repairs I have struggled with it all. It has been very hard saving money while paying monthly rent to friends and family we have been staying with during this tough time. I’ve sold a lot of my personal property to come up with money to cover other bills. I changed my phone provider to keep a cell phone active at lower monthly costs. For the first time I will have my own apartment and my son will have a room for himself to call home. We will no longer be sleeping out of backpacks and suitcases at my sisters home. With the assistance I will be receiving with you guys we can plan to budget with this move in.
Thank you you again!

This family brings our placements this year to 115 and our grand total since we started OTS in 2014 up to 625. Read more about our charity at OTSHB.COM.

Comments are closed.